Women storytellers

Ep. 19 LIVE AGAIN! – with guest Betty Folliard

We are live again! Guest Betty Folliard, founder of ERAMN, enlightens us on her tireless fight for equal rights for women. Brittany Delaney delivers a stirring poem about Justice. Zippy Laske asks us to make peace with our shadows. Musical guest Nora Montanez Patterson performs her original tribute to the activist Dolores Huerta from the upcoming PROTEST! And our Island cast shares stories of resiliency.

Episode Details

  • Island of Discarded Women Episode #19 was directed and produced by Sue Scott
  • Cast: Silvia Pontaza, Dae Yang, Mo Perry, Sue Scott, Zippy Laske and spoken word artist Brittany Delaney
  • Written by Brittany, Silvia, Dae, Mo, Zippy and Sue
  • Special Guest is Betty Folliard
  • Musical Guest is Nora Montanez Patterson with Tim Carrow on guitar.
  • Original song, “Dragon Lady” music by Miguel Gonzales, lyrics by Nora Montanez Patterson, written for the Revolutionary Rock Opus PROTEST!
  • Original song “Until You’re Back” music and lyrics by Zippy Laske
  • Live Audio Engineering by Sam Hudson and Katharine Horowitz
  • Edited by Sue Scott. Mixed and mastered by Sam Hudson with Katharine Horowitz
  • Lighting by Barry Browning
  • Photos by Sara Erdman
  • PR assistance by Dorothy Rand
  • Social Media assistance by Ashton Schneider

Ep. 13 Listening – with Guest Sarah Lynne RN


In our second “from home” episode, we reflect and react to the murder of George Floyd and the ongoing pandemic.  Dae talks about “living while Asian” in this time of COVID. Shanan lets us know that the Anger Hut has reopened, sort of. Regina, brings a searing Nina Simone song to life.  New contributor, Dawn Brodey, wonders what life would be like if her 2 year old were black.  Sue acknowledges that it is systemic. And our guest, Sarah Lynne, shares her perspective from deep inside the coronavirus battle.

  • Island of Discarded Women Episode #13 was directed and produced by Sue Scott
  • Cast: Dae Yang, Shanan Custer, Dawn Brodey, Regina Williams and Sue Scott
  • Written by Dae, Shanan, Dawn and Sue
  • Special Guest is Sarah Lynne
  • Original underscoring by Zippy Laske
  • Edited and mixed by Sue Scott. Mastered by Tony Axtell
  • “Brown Baby” by Oscar Brown Jr., performed by Regina Williams as part of New Dawn Theatre’s “A Breath for George”
  • Assistance by Hannah McDonald